Skip to main content

Chemistry brings home seven awards from the College of Science

Chemistry brings home seven awards from the College of Science

F.A. Gilfillan Memorian Award
This award honors faculty members in the College of Science whose scholarship and scientific accomplishments have extended over a substantial period of time, especially faculty whose research careers have had a significant impact on his or her field.
–Wei Kong

Gender Equity in Leadership Award
This award recognizes work that enhances leadership skills and opportunities for faculty members who previously or currently identify as women in the College of Science.
–Marilyn Mackiewicz &
–Paula Weiss

Industry Partnership Award
This award supports projects that are developing new areas of research and establishing or augmenting research partnerships with industry partners.
–Kyriakos Stylianou

Loyd F Carter Awards for Outstanding and Inspiration Teaching in Science
Every year since 1946, the Loyd F. Carter Award has been presented to two outstanding College of Science faculty members: one for undergraduate teaching and one for graduate teaching. The purpose of the award is to encourage and recognize effective and inspirational teaching. The final selection is based solely on student nominations and voting.
–Marilyn Mackiewicz (graduate) &
–Paul Ha-Yeon Cheong (undergraduate)

Milton Harris Award in Basic Research
This award was endowed by G. Milton Harris, a Portland native who received his bachelor’s degree in 1926 from OSU and his Ph.D. from Yale University. He was a pioneer in polymer, fiber and textile science and was the founder and for many years president of Harris Research Laboratories, which later became part of Gillette. As part of his distinguished career in chemistry, Dr. Harris served on the National Bureau of Standards and as the chair of the American Chemical Society for five years. Dr. Harris and his family were and are devoted supporters of higher education, supporting numerous scholarships, awards and faculty positions in science and engineering at OSU. Milton Harris held 35 patents for polymer-coated razor blades, permanent press treatment of wool and wrinkle-resistant cotton finishing, among others. The purpose of the Harris award is to recognize exceptional achievement in basic research by honoring an outstanding faculty member in the College of Science. Special consideration is given to recent research that was carried out at OSU and that will have a significant impact on its field.
–David Ji

Erlenmeyer Flask