campus way

Welcome to the Department of Chemistry at Oregon State University. Located in the heart of the Willamette Valley, we have a vibrant Department focused on cutting-edge research and science education.

With over 100 Ph.D. students and approximately 200 undergraduate majors, Chemistry is one of the largest programs on the OSU Campus.  In fact, over 4,000 undergraduate students take a class in the Chemistry Department every academic year. 

Our faculty has established a long track record for conducting highly innovative research.  Professor Wei Kong’s new insights into the Evolution of Life, Harris Chair and Professor Mas Subramanian’s discovery of a new blue pigment which has revolutionized the dye industry, was featured in the American Chemical Society's 2015 National Chemistry Week itinerary,  and Professor Staci Simonich’s studies of pollution at the Beijing Olympics.  Professor Vince Remcho has co-founded GeneSpace Inc., and Trillium FiberFuels Inc. and Distinguished Emeritus Professor Jim White, a pioneer in synthetic organic chemistry was named a 2011 Fellow of the American Chemical Society; Kevin Gable would join this list in 2014 as well as Walt Loveland in 2018.  Walt Loveland was also elected as a 2015 Fellow for the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS), and departmental alumni Stephen Meyers was awarded the 2015 College of Science Young Alumni Award.  May Nyman even ventured into scientific social media by presenting as part of the ACS Reddit AMA Series.

OSU Chemistry is also leading the way in education including Emeritus Professor Joe Nibler’s textbook Experiments in Physical Chemistry and our innovative eCampus programs designed and taught by our faculty. In fact, Professor Mike Lerner and Senior Instructor Richard Nafshun, founded a company to facilitate on-line chemistry labs called OnlineChemLabs.  Our Department faculty have won numerous awards for teaching including recent Loyd Carter Awards (the top teaching award in the College) for Senior Instructor Jeff Walker in 2009,  Paul Blakemore in 2011 and Daniel Myles in both 2016 and 2018.  In 2015, five of our faculty members were named ESTEME@OSU Action Research Fellows, and Margie Haak was awarded the 2014 Woman of Achievement Award.

Over the past decade, the student population has grown dramatically.  As of 2018, we as a University are approaching 32,000 students.  This enrollment growth has led to wonderful opportunities to increase and expand programs through the University – including within Chemistry.  We have benefited in numerous ways from this expansion – including six new hires and multiple faculty searches.

In September 2011, the Linus Pauling Science Center opening on the Western side of campus – named after two-time Nobel laureate and OSU alumni (1922) Linus Pauling. This 62 million dollar, 105,000 square foot building provides a compelling place for both research and education – through modern General Chemistry laboratories, shared instrumentation facilities, and cutting-edge laboratories. The Linus Pauling Science Center houses not only Chemistry faculty and teaching space, but also the Linus Pauling Institute