Linus Pauling, two-time Nobel Prize winner and one of the greatest scientist of the 20th century, was an alumnus of Oregon Agricultural College (now Oregon State University).  Since 1987, the Department of Chemistry at OSU has invited a leader in the field of chemistry to give a series of lectures here in honor of Professor Pauling's many contributions to science and society.

Previous Linus Pauling Lecture Series presenters include:

2016 Dr. Steven A Soper, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
2015 Dr. Anthony K. Cheetham, FRS, University of Cambridge
2014 Dr. Carolyn R. Bertozzi, University of California, Berkley
2013 Dr. Robin M. Hochstrasser, University of Pennsylvania
2004 Dr. John Meurig Thomas, Cambridge
2003 Dr. Robert Grubbs, California Institute of Technology
2000 Dr. John Goodenough, University of Texas
1999 Dr. Sherwood Rowland, University of California, Irvine
1997 Dr. Dudley Herschbach, Harvard
1996 Dr. Alan Battersby, Cambridge
1994 Dr. Harry Gray, California Institute of Technology
1993 Dr. Richard Zare, Stanford
1992 Dr. Nicholas Turro, Columbia University
1991 Dr. Allen Bard, University of Texas
1990 Dr. Jeremy Knowles, Harvard
1989 Dr. Mark Wrighton, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
1989 Dr. Neil Bartlett, University of California, Berkley
1988 Dr. William Klemperer, Harvard
1987 Dr. Harden McConnell, Stanford